The Cumnock Tryst has announced the eight participants who will be involved in the first ever International Summer School for Composers.

The popular festival, which celebrates its 10th anniversary this year, opened applications back in January for the intensive course.

Applications were open worldwide to aspiring talented composers between the ages of 18 and 30.

The eight successful applicants will get the rare opportunity to work one-to-one with Tryst founder and artistic director Sir James MacMillan and composer Anna Thorvaldstottir.

The eight lucky composers are:

  • Goi Ywei Chern- A Singaporean composer and guitarist based in London.
  • Pernille Faye- A Norwegian/Irish composer based in London.
  • Jeffrey Fong- A Cantonese composer currently based in Montréal, Canada.
  • Pranav Ranjit- An American composer based in Europe.
  • Dominic Wright- A London-based composer.
  • Efe Yüksel- A composer, performer and electronic musician from İzmir/Turkey, currently based in London.
  • Tymon Zgorzelski- An emerging composer from Poland.
  • Vila Zhang- A composer and pianist studying at The University of Manchester for a master’s in composition.

The Tryst says the culmination of the learning experience will be a public performance at Dumfries House on August 10, led by a professional ensemble which will showcase a string ensemble and contrabass clarinet.

Dumfries House will be the venue.Dumfries House will be the venue. (Image: Tommy Samson, Cumnock Chronicle Camera Club)

The public performance at the end of the Summer School also marks the debut of the new Festival Ensemble. 

Tickets are on sale for this performance online.

You can also purchase tickets for a special event consisting of an exploratory talk with James MacMillan and Anna Thorvaldsdottir, the two composers leading this brand-new Tryst Summer School.

Tickets can also be purchased online, with both events being free.