EAST Ayrshire Council Leader Douglas Reid has been shortlisted for Leader of the Year at the 2020 Cllr Awards, organised by LGIU Scotland and CCLA.

The Cllr Awards is the only national ceremony to celebrate the vital contributions of councillors across Scotland, with 2020 marking the third year of showcasing their achievements.

The SNP’s Cllr Reid will go up against Cllr Jenny Laing at Aberdeen City Council and Cllr Murray Lyle from Perth and Kinross Council to be crowned Leader of the Year.

The winners will be decided by a panel of judges composed of senior councillors and officers as well as leading stakeholders from across the sector.

This year’s ceremony will take place virtually on Tuesday, November 24 with special speakers and guests.

Mr Reid said: "It was a complete surprise, totally out of the blue.

"I appreciate people going to the bother of nominating me, it’s always nice for your efforts to be recognised.

"I normally just enjoy getting on with the job, especially in these tough times when there’s plenty to be done.

"I’m just honoured to part of the East Ayrshire team, working together for our communities."